Wendy Xu & Ethan Aldridge

Illustration of Wendy XuPhoto of Ethan AldridgeLive via Zoom: 
Tuesday, November 16, 7:30 PM ET
Book Launch: Wendy Xu presents Tidesong
In conversation with Ethan Aldridge

Greenlight is delighted to host our neighbor and Hugo and Ignatz-nominated rising comics artist star Wendy Xu for the launch of her debut solo fantasy graphic novel, Tidesong. Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandma put pressure on her to attend the best magic school in the realm, even though her control over her magic is shaky at best. When she’s sent away to train with strange relatives who won’t let her near a spell book, she attempts magic on her own and entangles herself with Lir, a young water dragon who’s trapped in his human form. With Lir’s help, Sophie might just ace her entrance exams, but that means thwarting his attempts to regain his memories and true self. Sophie knows what she’s doing is wrong, but without Lir’s help, can she prove herself? Joined for a discussion by New York Times bestselling illustrator and author Ethan Aldridge, Xu presents a story of self-acceptance and friendship with a magical twist and discusses the creation of fantastical graphic worlds and storylines.

Click here to register for this event!

Event date: 

Tuesday, November 16, 2021 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

NY
Tidesong Cover Image
By Wendy Xu, Wendy Xu (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062955791
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Quill Tree Books - November 16th, 2021

Greenlight is delighted to partner with author Wendy Xu to offer exclusive signed copies of her book Tidesong, available for preorder now! 

If you would like a signed copy, or special inscription or personalization, you MUST indicate your request in Order Comments at checkout (or your order may be filled with an unsigned copy). Personalization requests must be made by Tuesday 11/16/21 11:59PM and orders will be shipped or ready for pickup around 11/17/21.

Sophie is a young witch whose mother and grandmother pressure her to attend the Royal Magic Academy—the best magic school in the realm—even though her magic is shaky at best. To train for her entrance exams, Sophie is sent to relatives she’s never met.

Cousin Sage and Great-Aunt Lan seem more interested in giving Sophie chores than in teaching her magic. Frustrated, Sophie attempts magic on her own, but the spell goes wrong, and she accidentally entangles her magic with the magic of a young water dragon named Lir.

Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli and The Tea Dragon Society, this is a magically heartwarming graphic novel about self-acceptance and friendship.


Estranged Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062653864
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: HarperAlley - August 7th, 2018

Event Location: