Story Time: 9/11 20th Anniversary Kids Panel

Composite photo of Sean Rubin, Alyssa Bermudez, Saadia Faruqi, and Priya HuqLive via Zoom:
Saturday, September 11, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: 9/11 20th Anniversary Kids Panel
Featuring:
Sean Rubin, author of This Very Tree: A Story of 9/11, Resilience, and Regrowth
Alyssa Bermudez, author of Big Apple Diaries
Saadia Faruqi, author of Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero
Priya Huq, author of Piece by Piece: The Story of Nisrin’s Hijab
Moderated by Kharissa Kenner

Greenlight hosts a panel discussion for the 20th anniversary of 9/11, featuring children’s book authors Sean Rubin, Alyssa Bermudez, Saadia Faruqi, and Priya Huq. Rubin’s This Very Tree is a deeply moving picture book about community and resilience, from the point-of-view of the Callery pear tree, dubbed the “Survivor Tree” that survived the attacks on September 11. Bermudez’s Big Apple Diaries is a heartfelt diary-style graphic memoir that follows a young New Yorker who doodles her way through middle school—until the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack leaves her wondering if she can ever be a kid again. Faruqi’s poignant new middle grade novel Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero is about a young Muslim American boy who, twenty years after the 9/11 attack, must navigate his fractured community and stand for what is right. Huq’s graphic novel Piece by Piece tells the story of Nisrin, a 13-year-old Bangladeshi-American girl living in Milwaukie, Oregon, in 2002, who relies on faith, friends, and family to help her recover after she is the target of a hate crime. Together, these authors discuss 9/11, its aftermath, and how significant events shape people and communities in a story time panel for families and children of all ages. The panel is moderated by Kharissa Kenner, the Children’s Librarian at Bank Street College of Education.

Click here to register for this event!

Event date: 

Saturday, September 11, 2021 - 11:30am

Event address: 

NY
This Very Tree: A Story of 9/11, Resilience, and Regrowth Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250788504
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 11th, 2021

A deeply moving story about community and resilience, from the point-of-view of the Callery pear tree that survived the attacks on September 11, from Eisner Award-nominated author-illustrator Sean Rubin.

* "A resonant, beautifully rendered testament to life and renewal." —Kirkus, starred review


Big Apple Diaries Cover Image
By Alyssa Bermudez, Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781250774279
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 17th, 2021

In Big Apple Diaries, a heartfelt diary-style graphic memoir by Alyssa Bermudez, a young New Yorker doodles her way through middle school—until the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack leaves her wondering if she can ever be a kid again.

"Educators seeking firsthand accounts of 9/11 will want to share this with their students, while ­middle graders looking for an engrossing graphic novel in the vein of Raina ­Telgemeier’s or Shannon Hale’s work will be pleased." —School Library Journal


Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062943255
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 7th, 2021

At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson—or anyone struggling to understand recent U.S. history and how it still affects us today.

"A timely, emotional story full of hope and love even in the face of discrimination and prejudice."
— Kirkus Reviews


Pre-Order Now Badge
Piece by Piece: The Story of Nisrin's Hijab Cover Image
By Priya Huq (Illustrator), Priya Huq
$22.99
ISBN: 9781419740169
Availability: Coming Soon - Available for Pre-Order Now
Published: Amulet Books - November 16th, 2021

In this middle-grade graphic novel, Nisrin will have to rely on faith, friends, and family to help her recover after she is the target of a hate crime.

"This gripping graphic novel is fast-paced and dramatic, with full-color illustrations that intensify the heightened emotions. . .Remarkable storytelling presents a multilayered struggle around identity and power in an anti-Muslim climate." 
— Kirkus Reviews


Event Location: