Marie Arnold & Zoraida Córdova

Live via Zoom:
Tuesday, February 9, 7:30 PM ET
Marie Arnold presents The Year I Flew Away
In conversation with Zoraida Córdova

Marie Arnold comes to Greenlight (virtually!) to present her debut middle grade novel, The Year I Flew Away! This enchanting tale follows ten-year-old Gabrielle and her rocky transition from Haiti to Brooklyn where she’s sent to live with extended family. Sick of being bullied for her choppy English, Gabrielle strikes a deal reminiscent of the Little Mermaid when a witch promises she can turn her into the “perfect American”. But soon Gabrielle realizes how much she has given up by trying to fit in and, along with her two new friends (one of them a talking rat), takes on the witch in an epic battle to try to reverse the spell. Gabrielle is a funny and engaging heroine you won’t soon forget in this sweet and lyrical novel that’s perfect for fans of Hurricane Child and Front Desk. Zoraida Córdova, author of The Way to Rio Luna and the award-winning Brooklyn Brujas series, joins Arnold in this magical conversation on immigration, acceptance, and identity.

Click here to register for this event!

Event date: 

Tuesday, February 9, 2021 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

NY
The Year I Flew Away Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358272755
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Versify - February 2nd, 2021

The Way to Rio Luna Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781338239546
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Scholastic Inc. - June 2nd, 2020

Labyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas #1) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781492623168
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - August 1st, 2017

Bruja Born (Brooklyn Brujas #2) Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781728209869
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - October 1st, 2019

Wayward Witch (Brooklyn Brujas #3) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781492650683
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Sourcebooks Fire - September 1st, 2020

Event Location: