FG Nonfiction Book Group

Offsite (Greene Grape Annex):
Tuesday, November 12, 7:30 PM
Fort Greene Nonfiction Book Group discusses This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America

Led by Greenlight bookseller Katie, our nonfiction book group in Fort Greene reads and discusses the most fascinating topics in nonfiction, both classic and contemporary, with seasonal themes covering a variety of genres. For November, the group discusses Morgan Jerkins’s New York Times bestselling essay collection, This Will Be My Undoing. Jerkins is only in her twenties, but she has already established herself as an insightful, brutally honest writer who isn’t afraid of tackling tough, controversial subjects. In This Will Be My Undoing, she takes on perhaps one of the most provocative contemporary topics: What does it mean to “be”—to live as, to exist as—a black woman today? This is a book about black women, but it’s necessary reading for all Americans. This collection interweaves Jerkins’s incisive commentary on pop culture, feminism, black history, misogyny, and racism with her own experiences to confront the very real challenges of being a black woman today—perfect for fans of Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist, Rebecca Solnit’s Men Explain Things to Me, and Chimamanda Ngozie Adichie’s We Should All Be Feminists.

Current book group picks are always 15% off at Greenlight, in the store or online.

Greene Grape Annex is located at 753 Fulton Street, across the street from the bookstore.

greenlightbookstore.com/bookgroups

Event date: 

Tuesday, November 12, 2019 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

753 Fulton street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
This Will Be My Undoing: Living at the Intersection of Black, Female, and Feminist in (White) America Cover Image
$13.59
ISBN: 9780062666154
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - January 30th, 2018

Event Location: