An Evening with One Story

Friday, June 7, 7:30 PM
An Evening with the One Story Literary Debutantes
Sponsored by The Author’s Guild
Hosted by One Story founding editor Hannah Tinti
Featuring readings by award-winning debut authors L. Annette Binder, Manuel Gonzales, Ben Miller, Leigh Newman, Ethan Rutherford, Claire Vaye Watkins, Douglas Watson
Reception to follow

One Story magazine’s annual Literary Debutante Ball is a send-up of the Debutante Balls of old—but instead of featuring young society ladies, it honors One Story authors who have published their first books in the past year. Following One Story’s benefit ball, which raises funds for this award-winning non-profit publisher, the 2013 Debutantes will visit Greenlight to read from their debut books. L. Annette Binder won the Mary McCarthy Prize in Short Fiction as well as numerous first book awards for Rise, her collection of contemporary fairy tales where the strange and surreal exist on the fringes of everyday life. Manuel Gonzales’ story collection The Miniature Wife is an exuberantly imaginative debut in the tradition of George Saunders and Aimee Bender, praised by Ben Marcus, Charles Yu and many other distinguished voices. Ben Miller’s evocative family memoir has a title that speaks for itself: River Bend Chronicle: The Junkification of a Boyhood Idyll Amid the Curious Glory of Urban Iowa. Part adventure story, part love story, part homecoming, Leigh Newman’s Still Points North is a page-turning memoir that explores the extremes of belonging and exile through her Alaskan childhood. The Peripatetic Coffin by Ethan Rutherford (already a Greenlight favorite) is a powerful new story collection populated by doomed ships and confused heroes, praised by Jim Shepard, Charles Baxter and other masters of the genre. Claire Vaye Watkins won the 2013 Story Prize for her debut collection Battleborn, which reimagines the mythology of the American West. And Douglas Watson plumbs the contradictions of reading, writing, and human desire in a collection of fairy tales gone awry with his story collection The Era of Not Quite. Novelist and One Story founder Hannah Tinti hosts this evening of powerhouse talents, followed by a reception hosted by the Authors Guild. Greenlight is proud to host some of the best emerging writers currently at work in American letters for this festive occasion!

Event date: 

Friday, June 7, 2013 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

686 Fulton Street
11217 Brooklyn
us
Rise By L. Annette Binder Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781936747313
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Sarabande Books - August 7th, 2012

River Bend Chronicle: The Junkification of a Boyhood Idyll Amid the Curious Glory of Urban Iowa By Ben Miller Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9780984900008
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Lookout Books - March 12th, 2013

Still Points North: One Alaskan Childhood, One Grown-up World, One Long Journey Home By Leigh Newman Cover Image
$26.00
Email orders@greenlightbookstore.com for information about this item.
ISBN: 9781400069248
Published: The Dial Press - March 19th, 2013

The Peripatetic Coffin and Other Stories By Ethan Rutherford Cover Image
$13.99
Email orders@greenlightbookstore.com for information about this item.
ISBN: 9780062203830
Published: Ecco - May 7th, 2013

The Era of Not Quite (American Readers #19) By Douglas Watson Cover Image
$14.00
ISBN: 9781938160103
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: BOA Editions - May 7th, 2013