Evan James with Leslie Jamison

Fort Greene Store:
Wednesday, March 11, 7:30 PM
Book Launch: Evan James presents I’ve Been Wrong Before
In conversation with Leslie Jamison
Reception to follow

Evan James, Greenlight neighbor and author of the novel Cheer Up, Mr. Widdicombe, reflects on the power and complexity of human relationships in this moving and unforgettable essay collection about his travels around the globe. From the award-winning essay “Lover’s Theme,” in which James explores the life of a drag queen in San Francisco, to his poignant story of coming out in “One Hell of a Homie,” set against the backdrop of the 1992 film Class Act, this essay collection brilliantly captures both the beauty and pain of relationships—friendly, familiar, and romantic. I’ve Been Wrong Before is an eye-opening and heartfelt illustration of how our differences are often the things that bring us closer together. Masterfully balancing tremendous insight with startling humor, this absorbing collection is perfect for fans of Alexander Chee and Maggie Nelson. Joining James in conversation is award-winning author Leslie Jamison (The Recovery; The Empathy Exams; The Gin Closet; Make It Scream, Make It Burn), and a reception follows to celebrate the book’s launch!

Event date: 

Wednesday, March 11, 2020 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

686 Fulton street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
I've Been Wrong Before: Essays Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501199646
Availability: Available at our distributor; usually ships in 1-5 days
Published: Atria Books - March 3rd, 2020

Event Location: