David Santos Donaldson & Rakesh Satyal

Photo of David Santos DonaldsonPhoto of Rakesh SatyalIN-PERSON: Live at Fort Greene!
Thursday, June 9, 7:30 PM ET
Book Launch: David Santos Donaldson presents Greenland
In conversation with Rakesh Satyal

Playwright, practicing psychotherapist, and author David Santos Donaldson holds court at our Fort Greene store for the launch of his much-anticipated debut novel—or, rather, novel-within-a-novel—in the vein of The Prophets and Memorial. In 1919, Mohammed el Adl, the young Egyptian lover of British author E. M. Forster, spent six months in a jail cell. A century later, Kip Starling has locked himself in his Brooklyn basement study with a pistol and twenty-one gallons of Poland Spring to write Mohammed’s story. Kip has only three weeks until his publisher’s deadline to immerse himself in the mind of Mohammed who, like Kip, is Black, queer, an Other. As Kip immerses himself in his writing, Mohammed’s story—and then Mohammed himself—begins to speak to him, and his life becomes a Proustian portal into Kip's own memories and psyche. Donaldson's layered debut takes on the dream of white assimilation, the foibles of interracial relationships, and not only the legacy of a literary giant, but literature itself.

Click here to register for this in-store event!

David Santos Donaldson photo credit: Billy Bustamente

Event date: 

Thursday, June 9, 2022 - 7:30pm

Event address: 

686 Fulton street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
Greenland: A Novel Cover Image
$26.99
ISBN: 9780063159556
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Amistad - June 7th, 2022

A dazzling, debut novel-within-a-novel in the vein of The Prophets and Memorial, about a young author writing about the secret love affair between E.M. Forster and Mohammed el Adl—in which Mohammed’s story collides with his own, blending fact and fiction.


Event Location: