BPL Presents: Making and Teaching Graphic Novels Part 2

Wednesday, June 2, 6:00 PM ET
Isabel Roxas, Mika Song, and Remy Lai 
Live via Zoom. Free with RSVP through Brooklyn Public Library

Join creators Isabel Roxas (The Adventures of Team Pom: Squid Happens), Mika Song (Apple of My Pie), and Remy Lai (Pawcasso), in a lively discussion about their wonderful books as they share their different approaches to comic creation and shed light on the thought and care that goes into their work and their use in education. Educator Tim Smyth will share ideas on why comics are needed in education and how these specific books can be used to create engaged analytical readers and writers. Bring your questions and join the conversation.

Click here to register for this event on BPL's webpage

Part one of this series is on May 26th at 6 pm.

Registered audience members will receive a Zoom link prior to the event.

Books are available to order from Greenlight for in-store pickup or direct-to-home shipping. Please allow time for shipping if not currently on our shelves. 

Event date: 

Wednesday, June 2, 2021 - 6:00pm

Event address: 

Brooklyn, NY
The Adventures of Team Pom: Squid Happens: Book 1 Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781912497256
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Flying Eye Books - June 8th, 2021

When oddballs Agnes, Roberta and Ruby discover a shared passion for synchronized swimming, the trio become Team Pom. But between snack time, their favorite TV show, and raising pigeons, it can be hard to find time to practice.

This crew of self-proclaimed weirdos are tired of their loser status in the pool. But on their way to gain the respect and free snacks they deserve, they stumble upon a lonely giant squid. Will he be the secret weapon they need for synchronized swimming stardom? Will they be able to outwit the sinister strangers in bowler hats, or will they end up with ink on their faces?

The first in this series and a debut comic book from award-winning Filipino illustrator Isabel Roxas, Squid Happens is a hilarious read that explores friendship, teamwork and what it means to be yourself.


Donut Feed the Squirrels (Norma and Belly #1) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895837
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Random House Graphic - September 29th, 2020

Two squirrel best friends meet their match: a donut food truck! A hilarious young graphic novel perfect for fans of Narwhal: Unicorn of the Sea and anyone who would do ANYTHING for a donut.

Norma and Belly would really really really really really like a donut.

With a burned breakfast and a cranky donut seller at the local food truck, they may be stuck with only nuts to eat . . . unless they can steal the biggest, most delicious donut of their tiny lives!

Mika Song gives readers something to laugh at as these squirrels try their hardest to get some donuts while just about everything goes wrong. A fun "donut caper" graphic novel that focuses on madcap action, problem-solving, and the power of working together.


Apple of My Pie (Norma and Belly #2) Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781984895851
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Random House Graphic - June 8th, 2021

Join troublemaking squirrels Norma and Belly on more delicious adventures in the sequel to the graphic novel Donut Feed the Squirrels, the perfect next-read for fans of Narwhal & Jelly!

When local park fixture (and spy-master) Pops gets squirrel-napped, it's up to Norma, Belly, and their friend little B to save him! This time, their adventure takes them out of the park--and into the uncharted territory of . . . the local apple orchard.

Where can Pops be? Will this adventure end in tragedy . . . or in apple pie? Or both? With these best friends on the case, you never know what's coming next--but you can be sure there will be friends and delicious foods along the way.


Pawcasso Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250774491
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - May 25th, 2021

Remy Lai, the award-winning creator of Pie in the Sky makes her middle-grade graphic novel debut, Pawcasso, about the unexpected friendship between the loneliest girl in class and the coolest canine in town.

"It's tail-wagging entertaining!" —Kelly Yang, New York Times bestselling author of Front Desk

Every Saturday, Pawcasso trots into town with a basket, a shopping list, and cash in paw to buy groceries for his family. One day, he passes eleven-year-old Jo, peering out the window of her house, bored and lonely. Astonished by the sight of an adorable basket-toting dog on his own, Jo follows Pawcasso, and when she’s seen alongside him by a group of kids from her school, they mistake her for Pawcasso’s owner.

Excited to make new friends, Jo reluctantly hides the truth and agrees to let “her” dog model for an art class the kids attend. What could go wrong? But what starts as a Chihuahua-sized lie quickly grows Great Dane-sized when animal control receives complaints about a dog roaming the streets off-leash. With Pawcasso’s freedom at stake, is Jo willing to spill the truth and risk her new friendships?


Pie in the Sky Cover Image
By Remy Lai, Remy Lai (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781250314109
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. BYR Paperbacks - May 14th, 2019

A poignant, laugh-out-loud illustrated middle-grade novel about an eleven-year-old boy's immigration experience, his annoying little brother, and their cake-baking hijinks! Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Gene Luen Yang!

"Pie in the Sky is like enjoying a decadent cake . . . heartwarming and rib-tickling." —Terri Libenson, bestselling author of Invisible Emmie

When Jingwen moves to a new country, he feels like he’s landed on Mars. School is torture, making friends is impossible since he doesn’t speak English, and he's often stuck looking after his (extremely irritating) little brother, Yanghao.

To distract himself from the loneliness, Jingwen daydreams about making all the cakes on the menu of Pie in the Sky, the bakery his father had planned to open before he unexpectedly passed away. The only problem is his mother has laid down one major rule: the brothers are not to use the oven while she's at work. As Jingwen and Yanghao bake elaborate cakes, they'll have to cook up elaborate excuses to keep the cake making a secret from Mama.

In her hilarious, moving middle-grade debut, Remy Lai delivers a scrumptious combination of vibrant graphic art and pitch-perfect writing that will appeal to fans of Shannon Hale and LeUyen Pham's Real Friends, Kelly Yang's Front Desk, and Jerry Craft's New Kid.
 


Event Location: