Kids Events

Story Time: Robin Newman

Live via Zoom:
Saturday, September 18, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: Robin Newman presents Don’t Call Me Fuzzybutt!

Don't Call Me Fuzzybutt! By Robin Newman, Susan Batori (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Robin Newman, Susan Batori (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534110731
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Sleeping Bear Press - March 15th, 2021

Bear is tired. The weather is getting cool and he's ready for a nice long nap--he's got earmuffs and a brand-new door to keep out the noise, plus a pair of fluffy slippers. Meanwhile, real estate mogul Woodpecker finds his recent homes...missing. And he follows the trail of debris right to Bear's new front door. When he "tap tap taps" to talk to Bear about it, the two engage in a feisty exchange of name-calling and gossip with the rest of their forest neighbors. Can they patch it up--literally--before Bear loses too much sleep? 


Story Time: 9/11 20th Anniversary Kids Panel

Composite photo of Sean Rubin, Alyssa Bermudez, Saadia Faruqi, and Priya HuqLive via Zoom:
Saturday, September 11, 11:30 AM ET

This Very Tree: A Story of 9/11, Resilience, and Regrowth By Sean Rubin Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250788504
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - May 11th, 2021

A deeply moving story about community and resilience, from the point-of-view of the Callery pear tree that survived the attacks on September 11, from Eisner Award-nominated author-illustrator Sean Rubin.

* "A resonant, beautifully rendered testament to life and renewal." —Kirkus, starred review


Big Apple Diaries By Alyssa Bermudez, Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Alyssa Bermudez, Alyssa Bermudez (Illustrator)
$22.99
ISBN: 9781250774279
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - August 17th, 2021

In Big Apple Diaries, a heartfelt diary-style graphic memoir by Alyssa Bermudez, a young New Yorker doodles her way through middle school—until the September 11, 2001, terrorist attack leaves her wondering if she can ever be a kid again.

"Educators seeking firsthand accounts of 9/11 will want to share this with their students, while ­middle graders looking for an engrossing graphic novel in the vein of Raina ­Telgemeier’s or Shannon Hale’s work will be pleased." —School Library Journal


Yusuf Azeem Is Not a Hero By Saadia Faruqi Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062943255
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Quill Tree Books - September 7th, 2021

At a time when we are all asking questions about identity, grief, and how to stand up for what is right, this book by the author of A Thousand Questions will hit home with young readers who love Hena Khan and Varian Johnson—or anyone struggling to understand recent U.S. history and how it still affects us today.

"A timely, emotional story full of hope and love even in the face of discrimination and prejudice."
— Kirkus Reviews


Piece by Piece: The Story of Nisrin's Hijab By Priya Huq (Illustrator), Priya Huq Cover Image
By Priya Huq (Illustrator), Priya Huq
$22.99
ISBN: 9781419740169
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - November 16th, 2021

In this middle-grade graphic novel, Nisrin will have to rely on faith, friends, and family to help her recover after she is the target of a hate crime.

"This gripping graphic novel is fast-paced and dramatic, with full-color illustrations that intensify the heightened emotions. . .Remarkable storytelling presents a multilayered struggle around identity and power in an anti-Muslim climate." 
— Kirkus Reviews


Story Time with Ann Magee

Photo of Ann Magee

Live via Zoom:
Saturday, September 4, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: Ann Magee presents Branches of Hope: The 9/11 Survivor Tree

Branches of Hope: The 9/11 Survivor Tree By Ann Magee, Nicole Wong (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Ann Magee, Nicole Wong (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781623541323
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Charlesbridge - May 18th, 2021

The branches of the 9/11 Survivor Tree poked through the rubble at Ground Zero. They were glimpses of hope in the weeks after September 11, 2001.

This memoir-like story, told in spare, careful sentences that recall helping actions around 9/11, portrays the day and subsequent years by following the growth of a little girl and of a tree that survived the attack. The 9/11 Survivor Tree was found at Ground Zero and moved to a nursery, a move that, like some other events in the book, is shown only in the art, thoughtfully leaving adults to fill in children’s questions with the level of detail a child can handle. Seasons change, the years pass, and the tree eventually returns as part of the 9/11 memorial. Paralleling that story is that of the little girl, part of an FDNY family, who lives near the World Trade Center with her Black mom and white dad. Gentle text and bright, detailed images with lots of trees and plants show the best parts of life after tragedy. An afterword gives more advanced details on 9/11 and on the 9/11 Survivor Tree Seedling Program, which shares hope with cities that have experienced tragedy. A great addition to public and school library shelves.
—Booklist


Story Time: Sarah Thomas & Jo Kosmides Edwards

Sarah ThomasJo Kosmides EdwardsLive via Zoom:
Saturday, August 7, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: Sarah Thomas & Jo Kosmides Edwards present Kalamata’s Kitchen

Kalamata's Kitchen By Sarah Thomas, Derek Wallace (Created by), Jo Kosmides Edwards (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Sarah Thomas, Derek Wallace (Created by), Jo Kosmides Edwards (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9780593307915
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Random House Books for Young Readers - July 20th, 2021

Order Kalamata's Kitchen by August 8th and receive the following merch sent directly to the address on your order: enamel pin, pledge card, temporary tattoo, and stickers! While supplies last. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Story Time: Elisha Cooper

Elisha Cooper author photo

Live via Zoom:
Saturday, July 31, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: Elisha Cooper presents Yes & No

Yes & No By Elisha Cooper, Elisha Cooper (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Elisha Cooper, Elisha Cooper (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250257338
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - April 13th, 2021

Train By Mr. Elisha Cooper (Illustrator), Mr. Elisha Cooper Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545384957
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Orchard Books - September 24th, 2013

Farm By Mr. Elisha Cooper, Mr. Elisha Cooper (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780545070751
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Orchard Books - April 1st, 2010

8: An Animal Alphabet By Mr. Elisha Cooper Cover Image
$18.99
Email orders@greenlightbookstore.com for information about this item.
ISBN: 9780545470834
Published: Orchard Books - July 28th, 2015

River By Mr. Elisha Cooper, Mr. Elisha Cooper (Illustrator) Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781338312263
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Orchard Books - October 1st, 2019

$17.95
SKU: TSHIRT-KIDS

Story Time: Melissa Iwai

Melissa Iwai author photo

Live via Zoom:
Saturday, July 17, 11:30 AM ET
Story Time: Melissa Iwai presents Dumplings for Lili

Dumplings for Lili By Melissa Iwai Cover Image
$17.95
ISBN: 9781324003427
Availability: Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
Published: Norton Young Readers - June 1st, 2021

Soup Day: A Picture Book By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator)
$18.99
ISBN: 9780805090048
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - September 28th, 2010

Pizza Day: A Picture Book By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Melissa Iwai, Melissa Iwai (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781627797900
Availability: Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - October 31st, 2017

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Kids Events