Brooklyn Voices: A Literary Series at St. Joseph's University

Greenlight Bookstore partners with St. Joseph's University New York to present the Brooklyn Voices series of literary presentations and discussions. Since 2012, the series has hosted luminary authors including Mark Bittman, Michael Chabon, Ta-Nehisi Coates, Teju Cole, John Darnielle, Junot Diaz, Nathan Englander, Jeffrey Eugenides, Eric Foner, Jonathan Franzen, Elizabeth Gilbert, Chris Hayes, Khaled Hosseini, Ezra Klein, Karl Ove Knausgaard, Jhumpa Lahiri, Greil Marcus, David Mitchell, Ann Patchett, Marie Ponsot, Dan Rather, Gabourey Sidibe, Patti Smith, Zadie Smith, Lindy West, Colson Whitehead, Hanya Yanagihara, and others at 245 Clinton Avenue in Tuohy Hall, part of the university’s historic Pratt-designed campus in Clinton Hill.

Tickets or RSVPs are required for admission to all Brooklyn Voices events; some tickets include a copy of the book, distributed at the event. Click the "Purchase Tickets" link below each event to reserve your seat through EventBrite. You can also use the "Add to Cart" buttons at the bottom of this page to purchase a book without attending an event; include any signing requests in the Order Comments field at checkout.


OFFSITE EVENT: ST. JOSEPH'S UNIVERSITY
Wednesday, May 15, 7:30pm
Aimee Nezhukumatathil presents Bite by Bite: Nourishments and Jamborees
In conversation with Roxane Gay

Tickets $27.00 (book included)

New York Times bestselling author Aimee Nezhukumatathil follows up her luminous collection of essays World of Wonders with Bite by Bite, a lyrical book of short essays about food, offering a banquet of tastes, smells, memories, associations, and marvelous curiosities from nature. Aimee Nezhukumatathil explores the way food and drink evoke our associations and remembrances—a subtext or layering, a flavor tinged with joy, shame, grief, desire, or nostalgia. Bite by Bite offers a rich kaleidoscope of vignettes and visions into the world of food and nature, drawn together by intimate and humorous personal reflections, with Fumi Nakamura’s gorgeous imagery and illustration. Aimee discusses her work with best-selling author Roxane Gay, along with a reading and book signing. 

Click here to register for this event!

Each ticket includes a signed copy of Move By Move to be picked up at the event


Friday, May 17, 7:30 PM at St. Joseph's University
Voyage Into Genre LIVE!
Featuring Andrea 
Hairston, Veronica Roth, Rebecca Thorne, & Nghi Vo
Moderated by P. Djeli Clark
Tickets $5 (can be applied to book purchase)

Tor Publishing Group and Lit Hub present an evening of fantasy fiction at a LIVE version of their popular Voyage Into Genre podcast. Join these amazing authors on their epic group tour, with special guest moderator P. Djeli Clark!

Andrea Hairston, author of The Archangels of Funk - post Water Wars, one woman must determine how best to honor her elders and her history while building a future for herself and fellow flood refugees
Veronica Roth, author of When Among Crows - swift and striking, drawing from the deep well of Slavic folklore and asking if redemption and atonement can be found in embracing what we most fear.
Rebecca Thorne, author of Can't Spell Treason Without Tea - In the tradition of Legends & Lattes, a cozy fantasy steeped in sapphic romance about one of the Queen’s private guards and a powerful mage who want to open a bookshop and live happily ever after…if only the world would let them.
Nghi Vo, author of The Brides of High Hill - Vo's Hugo Award-winning Singing Hills Cycle returns with a standalone gothic mystery that unfolds in the empire of Ahn.

Your GA admission price can be applied to the purchase of any of the featured books at the event, and authors will be signing following the discussion!

Click here to get tickets for this event!