In a Time of Witness (Hardcover)

In a Time of Witness By Derek (DK) Nnuro (Editor), Marilynne Robinson (Foreword by) Cover Image
By Derek (DK) Nnuro (Editor), Marilynne Robinson (Foreword by)
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)


Published by the Stanley Museum of Art. Distributed by University of Iowa Press.

In a Time of Witness is a publication highlighting the University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art's celebrated collection. Beyond a traditional exhibition catalog, this groundbreaking book pairs stunning imagery from the Stanley collection with original literary response to showcase an innovative vision for art interpretation. The literary responses are written by an impressive array of award-winning poets, translators and bestselling authors, including multiple Pulitzer Prize winners, U.S. Poets Laureate and national medal recipients, all of whom are alumni of the University of Iowa's prestigious literary programs.

Contributor List:
Tameka Cage Conley
Lan Samantha Chang
Esther Dischereit
Rita Dove
Anaïs Duplan
Efe Duyan
Danielle Evans
V. V. Ganeshananthan
Cory K. Gundlach
Joy Harjo
Adam Haslett
Juan Felipe Herrera
Sterling HolyWhiteMountain
A. M. Homes
Tàde Ipàdeolá
Jamil Jan Kochai
Lauren Lessing
Mark Levine
Yiyun Li
Carmen Maria Machado
Shane McCrae
Minae Mizumura
Derek (DK) Nnuro
Pola Oloixarac
Romeo Oriogun
D. A. Powell
Srikanth Reddy
Marilynne Robinson
Margaret Ross
Diana Tuite
De’Shawn Charles Winslow

About the Author

Derek (DK) Nnuro is a Ghanaian-born writer and is a graduate of Johns Hopkins and the Iowa Writers’ Workshop. He is curator of special projects at the University of Iowa Stanley Museum of Art. His debut novel, What Napoleon Could Not Do, was published by Riverhead/Penguin Random House in 2023.

Marilynne Robinson is the recipient of a 2012 National Humanities Medal, awarded by President Barack Obama, for "her grace and intelligence in writing." She is the author of Gilead, winner of the 2005 Pulitzer Prize for Fiction and the National Book Critics Circle Award; Home, winner of the Orange Prize and the Los Angeles Times Book Prize; and Lila, winner of the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her first novel, Housekeeping, won the Hemingway Foundation/PEN Award. In 2021, all four Gilead novels were selected for Oprah’s Book Club. Robinson's nonfiction books include What Are We Doing Here?; The Givenness of ThingsWhen I Was a Child I Read BooksAbsence of MindThe Death of Adam, and Mother Country. Her forthcoming book, Reading Genesis, will be published by Farrar, Straus & Giroux in 2024.

Product Details
ISBN: 9798218193683
Publisher: University Of Iowa Press
Publication Date: September 22nd, 2023
Pages: 240
Language: English