Wish of the Wicked (A Fairy Godmother Novel) (Hardcover)

Wish of the Wicked (A Fairy Godmother Novel) By Danielle Paige Cover Image
$19.99
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)

Description


New York Times bestselling author Danielle Paige puts a dark YA spin on Cinderella's fairy godmother in this brand new origin story, perfect for fans of These Violent Delights and A Curse So Dark and Deadly.

Everyone knows a fairy godmother helped Cinderella get to the ball. But no one knows why.

For centuries, Farrow's family-the Entente-have been magical advisors to the Queen. Their wisdom and foresight kept the Thirteen Queendoms in harmony. Until a new queen, Magrit, takes power, outlaws magic, and executes the Entente. Only Farrow survives, with her magic warped beyond repair. She can now use it only to fulfill the feeble wishes of commoners.

Since that day, Farrow has dreamed of revenge. The one way to reach the queen is through her son, Prince Mather, who is nearing the age when he must select a bride. When a special ball in his honor is announced, Farrow sees her opportunity. All it will take is a young woman named Cinderella who dreams of true love. With one night, one chance to reclaim her magic and destroy the queen, Farrow will stop at nothing.

Set in a lush, dangerous world rooted in our beloved fairy tales, New York Times bestselling author Danielle Paige launches a brand-new Fairy Godmother origin story full of intrigue, magic, and romance.

About the Author


Danielle Paige is the New York Times bestselling author of Stealing Snow and its prequel novellas Before the Snow and Queen Rising, as well as the Dorothy Must Die series, Mera: Tidebreaker, and The Ravens, co-written with Kass Morgan. Before turning to young adult literature, she worked in the television industry, where she received a Writers Guild of America Award and was nominated for several Daytime Emmys. She is a graduate of Columbia University and currently lives in New York City.

daniellepaigebooks.com
Twitter and Instagram: @daniellempaige

Praise For…


“Full of wonder, delight, and fairy godmother magic. In Wish of the Wicked, Danielle Paige masterfully answers one of fairy tale's greatest mysteries and creates a new fairy tale for the ages.” —Stephanie Garber, New York Times bestselling author of Caraval

“Get ready to be swept away by Danielle Paige's thrilling and enchanting new YA series! In this fairy godmother origin story, Paige puts a dark spin on the traditional tale and delivers a fast-paced and gripping adventure that will leave you wanting more!” —New York Times bestselling author Melissa de la Cruz

“Paige launches a gorgeously crafted new fantasy series inspired by Cinderella's fairy godmother. This fresh fairy tale has a compelling bite that will hold readers in its thrall as if by magic.” —Booklist, starred review

“Paige meticulously layers details from the original story amid this striking new series opener to effectively imbue the familiar tale with fresh vitality.” —Publishers Weekly

“Prolific, bestselling YA novelist Paige presents an original backstory in which Cinderella's fairy godmother becomes the brooding protagonist at the heart of her own story. . . This sprawling, action-packed origin story, layered in mystique, will pull readers into its fascinating world.” —Kirkus Reviews

“Perfect for readers who want their fairy tales to have a darker twist.” —Booklist on STEALING SNOW

“Suggest to readers looking for a modern story with dark, fairy-tale underpinnings.” —School Library Journal on STEALING SNOW

“A lush and addictive fantasy woven from threads of magic, romance, and adventure by a master storyteller.” —Kami Garcia, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling coauthor of BEAUTIFUL CREATURES, on STEALING SNOW

“An adventure that's hauntingly beautiful and dangerously seductive.” —Kass Morgan, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE 100, on STEALING SNOW

“Eerie, edgy and enchanting.” —Amie Kaufman, NEW YORK TIMES bestselling coauthor of ILLUMINAE, on STEALING SNOW

“One of my favorite fairy tale retellings! Danielle Paige is a master storyteller!” —Melissa de la Cruz, #1 NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author of THE ISLE OF THE LOST, on STEALING SNOW



Product Details
ISBN: 9781681196862
ISBN-10: 1681196867
Publisher: Bloomsbury YA
Publication Date: November 7th, 2023
Pages: 480
Language: English
Series: A Fairy Godmother Novel