Olympians: Hera: The Goddess and her Glory (Paperback)

Olympians: Hera: The Goddess and her Glory By George O'Connor, George O'Connor (Illustrator) Cover Image
By George O'Connor, George O'Connor (Illustrator)
$12.99
Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
1 on hand, as of Jun 14 11:06pm
(Child - Graphic Novels)

Description


George O’Connor’s vibrant, kinetic art brings ancient tales to life in the New York Times Bestselling series The Olympians. This fusion of super-hero aesthetics and ancient Greek mythology is perfect for fans of Percy Jackson!

There’s only one thing Zeus, the King of the Gods, is afraid of. It isn’t the many-headed Hydra, or the towering Gigantes. It isn’t his powerful, jealous brother Poseidon, the god of the seas. Monsters, gods, Titans–none of them make the mighty Zeus blink an eye.

The only thing Zeus fears is his wife: Hera, Goddess of the air, the sky, and the heavens, patroness of the cunning Jason, and scourge of the mighty Heracles. Hera rivals Zeus in power–and surpasses him in wrath.

About the Author


George O'Connor is the New York Times–bestselling author of Olympians, the series of graphic novels featuring the tragic, dramatic, and epic lives of the Greek Pantheon and its counterpart featuring the Norse Gods, the series Asgardians. His first graphic novel, Journey into Mohawk Country, pushed the boundaries of the genre, using as its sole text the actual historical journal of the seventeenth-century Dutch trader Harmen Meyndertsz van den Bogaert. He also illustrated acclaimed playwright Adam Rapp’s Ball Peen Hammer. He teamed up with writer Daniel G. Newman on Unrig: How to Fix Our Broken Democracy, the first volume in the World Citizen Comics series. George is also the creator of popular picture books such as the New York Times–bestselling Kapow! and If I Had a Triceratops. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

George O'Connor is the New York Times–bestselling author of Olympians, the series of graphic novels featuring the tragic, dramatic, and epic lives of the Greek Pantheon and its counterpart featuring the Norse Gods, the series Asgardians. His first graphic novel, Journey into Mohawk Country, pushed the boundaries of the genre, using as its sole text the actual historical journal of the seventeenth-century Dutch trader Harmen Meyndertsz van den Bogaert. He also illustrated acclaimed playwright Adam Rapp’s Ball Peen Hammer. He teamed up with writer Daniel G. Newman on Unrig: How to Fix Our Broken Democracy, the first volume in the World Citizen Comics series. George is also the creator of popular picture books such as the New York Times–bestselling Kapow! and If I Had a Triceratops. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


Praise for the Olympians series:

"O’Connor, a self-proclaimed Greek mythology obsessive, has done something wonderful: He’s turned the tales of those adventuresome, rascally, feuding, power-mad Greek gods into a nifty set of gorgeously drawn, well-researched graphic novels that kids go nuts for."—New York Times


Praise for Olympians: Hera:

“Definitely worth a visit for any young demigod.” —Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series

“Readers . . . will be delighted with this debut title in the Olympians series of graphic novels.” —Bulletin of the Cener for Children's Books, starred review



Product Details
ISBN: 9781596434332
ISBN-10: 1596434333
Publisher: First Second
Publication Date: July 19th, 2011
Pages: 80
Language: English
Series: Olympians