Lima:: Limón (Paperback)

Staff Pick Badge
Lima:: Limón Cover Image
$16.00
Available at our distributor; usually ships in 1-5 days

Staff Reviews


Natalie Scenters-Zapico’s second collection of poems explores the complexity of gender roles within the landscape of the poet’s hometowns of Ciudad Juárez and El Paso. Through rich lyricism and strange imagery these poems investigate feminized labor, violence, and desire on the US-Mexico border. Haunting and visceral, this is a must-read for fans of Dorothea Lasky, Khadijah Queen, and Ocean Vuong.

Picked by Phoebe in Fort Greene

Description


BuzzFeed's Books Coming in 2019 That You'll Want To Keep On Your Radar

NPR's 2019 Poetry Preview

NBC's 8 Excellent Latino Poetry Books for National Poetry Month

The Rumpus's Books To Read in 2019

Remezcla's 8 Books to Read this Year

Bustle's Most Anticipated Books of 2019

Publishers Weekly's Top 10 Poetry Books To Read For Spring 2019

"Through a range of forms--tercets, prose hybrids, lyric strophes, and more--the poems in Scenters-Zapico's second collection . . . incisively interrogate the aesthetics of cultural difference." ―Publishers Weekly, starred review In her striking second collection, Natalie Scenters-Zapico sets her unflinching gaze once again on the borders of things. Lima:: Lim n illuminates both the sweet and the sour of the immigrant experience, of life as a woman in the U.S. and Mexico, and of the politics of the present day. Drawing inspiration from the music of her childhood, her lyrical poems focus on the often-tested resilience of women. Scenters-Zapico writes heartbreakingly about domestic violence and its toxic duality of macho versus hembra, of masculinity versus femininity, and throws into harsh relief the all-too-normalized pain that women endure. Her sharp verse and intense anecdotes brand her poems into the reader; images like the Virgin Mary crying glass tears and a border fence that leaves never-healing scars intertwine as she stares down femicide and gang violence alike. Unflinching, Scenters-Zapico highlights the hardships and stigma immigrants face on both sides of the border, her desire to create change shining through in every line. Lima:: Lim n is grounding and urgent, a collection that speaks out against violence and works toward healing.

About the Author


Natalie Scenters-Zapico is the author of The Verging Cities, as well as the recipient of the PEN American/Joyce Osterweil Award for Poetry and the National Association of Chicano/a Studies Book Award.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781556595318
ISBN-10: 155659531X
Publisher: Copper Canyon Press
Publication Date: May 14th, 2019
Pages: 80
Language: English