The Age of Light (Pre-Recorded Audio Player)

Staff Pick Badge
The Age of Light Cover Image
Email or call us for information about purchasing this item.
Special Order; please call or email to confirm availability

Staff Reviews


This sumptuous historical novel charts the life of war photographer Lee Miller, who began her career as a model in late-1920s Paris and entered into a complex relationship with Man Ray as his muse, student and lover. Scharer's inviting prose makes it easy to slide into Miller's fascinating and criminally overlooked story. Highly recommended for fans of Paula McLain and Anthony Doerr.

Picked by Sarah in Fort Greene

February 2019 Indie Next List


“Art lovers will enjoy this sexy, brilliant novel about Man Ray and Lee Miller set in Paris during the Jazz Age. Ray met Miller shortly after she arrived in Paris, young and just learning her craft. He became her mentor and lover, an intense relationship with the older man nurturing the younger woman’s talent. But as Miller grew into her art and the relationship shifted, Ray’s ego needed to be first. By WWII, Miller is at the height of her powers, and she leaves behind the safety of shooting portraits for the battlefields of Europe, documenting the horrors of concentration camps. Following Miller from her youth to old age, Scharer explores the passions and creativity of two larger-than-life characters.”
— Deon Stonehouse, Sunriver Books & Music, Sunriver, OR

Winter 2019 Reading Group Indie Next List


“Set in 1930s Paris, The Age of Light tells the story of Lee Miller, an accomplished woman in her own right, and her relationship as assistant and lover to the artist Man Ray. This novel chronicles her journey from muse to artist; for lovers of historical fiction, this one’s for you. A page-turner from start to finish.”
— Mary Kay Burnett, Buttonwood Books and Toys, Cohasset, MA

Product Details
ISBN: 9781549124419
ISBN-10: 1549124412
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Publication Date: March 5th, 2019
Language: English