Five Modern No Plays (Vintage International) (Paperback)

Five Modern No Plays (Vintage International) By Yukio Mishima Cover Image
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)


Five No plays—one of the great art forms that has fascinated people throughout the world—from one of Japan's outstanding post-war writers. • "Mishima's is a wonderful, astonishing, and frightening creative energy." —The New York Times Magazine

The late Yukio Mishima infused new life into the form by using it for plays that preserve the style and inner spirit of No and are at the same time so modern, so direct, and intelligible that they could, as he suggested, be played on a bench in Central Park. Here are five of his No plays, stunning in their contemporary nature and relevance—and finally made available again for readers to enjoy.

About the Author

YUKIO MISHIMA was born in Tokyo in 1925. He graduated from Tokyo Imperial University’s School of Jurisprudence in 1947. His first published book, The Forest in Full Bloom, appeared in 1944. He established himself as a major author with Confessions of a Mask (1949). From then until his death he continued to publish novels, short stories, and plays each year. His crowning achievement, The Sea of Fertility tetralogy—which contains the novels Spring Snow (1969), Runaway Horses (1969), The Temple of Dawn (1970), and The Decay of the Angel (1971)—is considered one of the definitive works of twentieth-century Japanese fiction. In 1970, at the age of forty-five and the day after completing the last novel in the Fertility series, Mishima committed seppuku (ritual suicide)—a spectacular death that attracted worldwide attention.

Praise For…

"Mishima's is a wonderful, astonishing, and frightening creative energy." —The New York Times Magazine

Product Details
ISBN: 9780307473110
ISBN-10: 0307473112
Publisher: Vintage
Publication Date: December 1st, 2009
Pages: 224
Language: English
Series: Vintage International