The Last Word: A Novel (Hardcover)

The Last Word: A Novel By Elly Griffiths Cover Image
$27.99
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)

Description


Words turn deadly with an unlikely detective duo on the case of a murdered obituary writer in this literary mystery from the internationally bestselling author of the Ruth Galloway series. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman and the Thursday Murder Club.

Natalka and Edwin are perfect if improbable partners in a detective agency. At eighty-four, Edwin regularly claims that he’s the oldest detective in England. He is a master at surveillance, deploying his age as a cloak of invisibility. Natalka, Ukrainian-born and more than fifty years his junior, is a math whizz, who takes any cases concerning fraud or deception. Despite a steady stream of minor cases, Natalka is frustrated. She loves a murder, as she’s fond of saying, and none have come the agency’s way. That is until local writer Melody Chambers dies.

Melody’s daughters are convinced that their mother was murdered. Edwin thinks that Melody’s death is linked to that of an obituary writer who predeceased many of his subjects. Edwin and Benedict go undercover to investigate and are on a creative writing weekend at isolated Battle House when another murder occurs. Are the cases linked and what is the role of a distinctly sinister book group attended by many of writers involved? By the time Edwin has infiltrated the group, he is in serious danger…

Seeking professional help, the investigators turn to their friend, detective Harbinder Kaur, and find that they have stumbled on a plot that is stranger than fiction.

About the Author


Elly Griffiths is the USA Today bestselling author of the Ruth Galloway and Brighton mystery series, as well as the standalone novels The Stranger Diaries, winner of the Edgar Award for Best Novel; The Postscript Murders; and Bleeding Heart Yard. She is the recipient of the CWA Dagger in the Library Award and the Mary Higgins Clark Award. She lives in Brighton, England.

Praise For…


“Griffiths expertly blends a well-wrought procedural with distinctive characters, academic politics, and romance. Fans old and new will be rewarded.”  — Publishers Weekly (starred review) for The Last Remains

“This brilliant series, brimming with comedy and compassion, has demonstrated that archaeology, just like the best crime fiction, is the study of everyday people . . . Elly Griffiths has honed her skills to become one of our very best writers. Bravo!”  — The Times (UK), for The Last Remains

The Last Remains does not disappoint . . . it will have you laughing, crying, gasping and staring wide eyed, because Griffiths delivers a thrilling roller-coaster ride.” — Crime Fiction Lover

“Ruth Galloway is a remarkable, delightful character...A must-read for fans of crime and mystery fiction.” — Associated Press

“Forensic archeologist and academic Ruth Galloway is a captivating amateur sleuth—an inspired creation. I identified with her insecurities and struggles, and cheered her on.” — Louise Penny, author of the bestselling Armand Gamache series

“A well-plotted procedural that can hold its own with the genre’s best.” — Wall Street Journal on Bleeding Heart Yard

“This droll romp is a latter-day Miss Marple.” — Washington Post on Postscript Murders

“This lively whodunit keeps you guessing until the end.”  — People on The Stranger Diaries



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063374720
ISBN-10: 0063374722
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: April 23rd, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English