Deephaven (Deephaven Mystery #1) (Hardcover)

Deephaven (Deephaven Mystery #1) By Ethan M. Aldridge Cover Image
$18.99
Available In Store Now (while supplies last)
1 on hand, as of Apr 14 3:20pm
(Child - Intermediate)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Deephaven Mystery series.

Description


From Ethan M. Aldridge, bestselling creator of Estranged, comes a gothic middle grade prose novel that follows a nonbinary student who is drawn to their boarding school’s forbidden east wing, where something stalks the shadowy corridors. Perfect for fans of J. A. White and Mary Downing Hahn!

When Guinevere "Nev" Tallow receives an acceptance letter to the exclusive Deephaven Academy, they know it’s the fresh start that they’ve been looking for.

But things are strange from the moment they arrive—the house itself seems to breathe, students whisper secrets in dark corridors, and the entire east wing of the academy is locked away for reasons no one wants to explain. And Nev knows something ragged stalks the shadowy corridors, something that sobs quietly and scratches at the walls, waiting to be released.

With the help of another first-year student, Nev takes it upon themself to unravel the mysteries hidden in Deephaven's halls. But will they risk their fresh start to bring the academy’s secret to light?

About the Author


Ethan M. Aldridge is a New York Times bestselling illustrator and author. He was raised in a very small town in Utah. Growing up, his favorite things to draw were ghosts, monsters, and whatever dinosaur he liked most that week. He now does more or less the same thing for a living. Ethan lives in New York City with his husband, Matthew, and their dog, Kitsune. Visit him online at ethanaldridge.weebly.com.

Praise For…


“A book about friendship and bravery and doing the right thing even when the right thing is terrifying, Deephaven is delightfully gothic and brilliantly timeless. I adored this book from start to finish, and the gorgeous illustrations by the author only add to its spooky charm. This one belongs on school and library shelves.” — Lora Senf, author of The Clackity, a Bram Stoker Award Nominee

“Gloriously eerie and full of mystery—in both story and art! Deephaven is a compelling tale of finding a place for oneself in the world.” — Chuck Wendig, New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of Star Wars: Aftermath and Dust & Grim

“Aldridge employs tremendous skill both in effective pacing and evocative imagery. Between the sumptuous prose, the thrilling frights, and the well-paced plot, this book is sure to thrill middle graders with a taste for magic and goosebumps.”  — Bulletin of the Center for Children’s Books

“For fans of light horror, gothic literature, and school stories. The prose is quick-moving, black-and-white illustrations give the story ambiance, and readers will be clamoring to find out what happens next to Nev Tallow.” — Booklist

“Evocative atmosphere. Enjoyable, spooky main plotline. The illustrations are a highlight: reminiscent of etchings in an old storybook but with a modern graphic-novel flavor.” — Kirkus Reviews

Energetically conjures plenty of twists and a genuinely creepy vibe. Fine-lined b&w art enhances the atmosphere.”  — Publishers Weekly

“Spooky yet heartfelt, Deephaven is sure to delight fans of Netflix’s “Wednesday” and anyone who likes a cleverly conceived gothic tale featuring creepy creatures and found family.”  — BookPage



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063283169
ISBN-10: 0063283166
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: September 5th, 2023
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Deephaven Mystery