Love & Resistance (Hardcover)

Love & Resistance By Kara H.L. Chen Cover Image
$19.99
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)

Description


Moxie meets Mary H.K. Choi in this funny, whip-smart YA debut about love, resistance, and the enduring friendships that make it all worthwhile. 

Seventeen-year-old Olivia Chang is at her fourth school in seven years. Her self-imposed solitude is lonely but safe. At Plainstown High, however, Olivia’s usual plan of anonymity fails when infamous it-girl Mitzi Clarke makes a pointed racist comment in class. Tired of ignoring things just to survive, Olivia defends herself.  

And that is the end of her invisible life. 

Soon, Olivia joins forces with the Nerd Net: a secret society that's been thwarting Mitzi’s reign of terror for months. Together, they plan to unite the masses and create true change at school.

But in order to succeed, Olivia must do something even more terrifying than lead a movement: trust other people. She might even make true friends along the way . . . if Mitzi doesn’t destroy her first. 

A cheeky, thought-provoking force of a book, perfect for fans of E. Lockhart’s The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks.

About the Author


Kara H.L. Chen is a Taiwanese American writer who received her MFA in fiction from Brooklyn College. She grew up in Ohio but now lives with her husband and two daughters in Northern California. She can be found online at karahlchen.com. 

Praise For…


"The narrative’s quick pace and creative turns should keep readers’ interest all the way to the thoughtful ending. Entertaining." — Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063237834
ISBN-10: 0063237830
Publisher: Quill Tree Books
Publication Date: July 4th, 2023
Pages: 352
Language: English