The Cherished (Hardcover)

The Cherished By Patricia Ward Cover Image
$19.99
Not In Store / Available To Order (allow for shipping time to bookstore or direct-to-home)

Description


For fans of White Smoke, The Hazel Wood, and Wilder Girls comes an original, hypnotizing horror thriller in the vein of Midsommar, as one girl inherits a mysterious house from her estranged grandmother—and a letter with sinister instructions.

Jo never expected to be placed in her absent grandmother’s will—let alone be left her house, her land, and a letter with mysterious demands.

Upon arriving at the inherited property, things are even more strange.

The tenants mentioned in the letter are odd, just slightly…off. Jo feels something dark and decrepit in the old shack behind the house. And the things that her father used to talk about, his delusions… Why is Jo starting to believe they might be real?

But what Jo fears most is the letter from her grandmother. Because if it’s true, then Jo belongs here, in this strange place. And she has no choice but to stay.

About the Author


Patricia Ward was born and raised in Beirut, Lebanon, moving to the United States when she was eighteen. She is the author of The Bullet Collection (Graywolf Press, 2003) and Skinner Luce (Talos Press, 2016). Ward is also a book artist specializing in miniature books and dioramas. She lives with her family in Vermont. The Cherished is her first young adult novel, and you can find her at www.patriciasarrafianward.com.

Praise For…


“For fans of Guillermo Del Toro’s Pan’s Labyrinth, Lebanese-American author Ward draws from her experience to create a frightening story exploring identity, grief, and what it means to be family.”  — Robin Roe, author of Dark Room Etiquette

"Unsettling in the best way, The Cherished is a captivating read that pulls you in and won't let go. Wonderfully atmospheric and compelling!"  — Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Lake House

"A captivating mix of mystery and mythology." — School Library Journal

"[A] pulse-pounding thriller, pairing brisk pacing with frenetic plotting that adds a layer of unease to Jo’s harrowing situation."  — Publishers Weekly

"A slow-burn mystery rooted in family bonds and duty... An oppressive unease effectively pervades the novel until Jo at last finds purpose and belonging. Hand to those who enjoy atmospheric character studies." — Booklist

"An exploration of belonging, a tale of generational trauma, and a fantasy thriller oozing with mystery around every corner." — Mugglenet

"[An] atmospheric, creepy fantasy... a thoroughly engaging read." — YA Books Central

"A spine-tingling, slow-burn horror mystery... a reflective story that uses elements of fantasy to tell a tale of the self-discovery and courage of a young girl." — Pine Reads Review



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063235113
ISBN-10: 0063235110
Publisher: HarperTeen
Publication Date: April 18th, 2023
Pages: 336
Language: English