Jeannie Vanasco with Michelle Legro

Jeannie VanascoMichelle LegroFort Greene store:
Wednesday, October 11, 7:30 PM
Jeannie Vanasco presents The Glass Eye
In conversation with Michelle Legro

Essayist and poet Jeannie Vanasco presents her debut book, a memoir exploring desolating mania and vehement grief in the vein of Maggie Nelson and Meghan O’Rourke. In The Glass Eye, Vanasco unravels the years following her father’s death, as her mourning transforms into an increasing obsession with her half-sister Jeanne: her father’s daughter from another marriage, and her namesake, who died before she was born. Vanasco investigates the mysterious circumstances of her half-sister’s death while confronting the loss of her father, all the while she is in and out of hospitals for an escalating mania. A hotly anticipated debut, The Glass Eye is Publishers Weekly Big Indie Book of Fall and was recently selected by Poets & Writers as one of the five best nonfiction debuts of 2017. Vanasco presents her work in conversation with Michelle Legro, writer and editor at Longreads.

Event date: 
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 - 7:30pm
Event address: 
686 Fulton street
Brooklyn, NY 11217
The Glass Eye: A Memoir Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781941040775
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tin House Books - October 3rd, 2017

Event Location: